Board of Education Appreciation Month - Letter to the Editor Jan 2021

Last Updated: 1/19/2021 8:07 PM

The year 2020 will go down in history as one of the most challenging years in the modern era.  Despite the moments of stress and concern, it brought us more courage, determination and knowledge than we ever thought we could muster.  I am extremely proud of our Hardin County Schools students, staff and families.

The beginning of a new year automatically causes us to reflect on the year that just passed and creates a sense of excitement about what is to come in the next 12 months.  I think it is an absolutely fitting time for School Board Appreciation Month in Kentucky.

You’ll find five – sometimes a few more – dedicated people in each of the state’s public school districts that work sacrificially for the betterment of education in the county, city or township they serve.  Our Board of Education truly does just that.  We are fortunate to have a magnificent group of individuals from varied backgrounds serving our community.

After the December Hardin County Board of Education meeting, we said goodbye and THANK YOU to John Emary and Kay Sharon.  Mr. Emary and Ms. Sharon spent their time on the Board focused on the betterment of our students.  They both dedicated themselves to student and staff growth and worked to ensure that we provided the best opportunities possible for our students to succeed in and out of the classroom.  I’m thankful to call both of these individuals my friends and my forever partners in education.

Our board will continue the longstanding tradition of selfless service and will remain steadfast to student and staff success.  Charlie Wise, Dawn Johnson and Ben Sego have worked tirelessly for our students and I know they will continue to do so.  We are also excited to welcome Steve Bland and Mark Casey to the Board.  Their enthusiasm is contagious and they have the characteristics of successful leaders.  Both are student-centered and will live out our Board commitments. 

The Hardin County Board of Education recognizes that the success of the district will lead to the success of our community.  The Board is fully dedicated to this effort.

I’m honored to serve the students, staff and stakeholders of Hardin County Schools alongside such a tremendous group of people.  I’m thankful for Mr. Wise, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Bland, Mr. Casey and Mr. Sego and their commitment to the future of our students.  I’m also thankful for the longstanding commitment and passion continuously exhibited by Mr. Emary and Ms. Sharon.



Teresa Morgan


Hardin County Schools